Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content


Professional Designations

What's Your Competitive Advantage?

Distinguishing yourself from the competition can be a challenging task. A professional designation allows you to set yourself apart and illustrates your professionalism by indicating that you are dedicated to increasing your knowledge and achieving career growth. Take an important step in your career and obtain a professional designation today.

  • RIMS Fellow (RF)
    The Global Risk Management Institute’s (GRMI) RIMS Fellow® (RF) designation is a prestigious credential for the experienced risk professional.  The RF designation is a symbol of professional excellence that affirms your mastery of risk management knowledge and commitment to quality. It represents the standard of education, dedication and ethics that the profession expects.  Adding the RF next to your name verifies that you have achieved the knowledge, skills and tools needed to identify and manage operational, financial, external and other risks and to look at risk strategically within the organization.
  • Canadian Risk Management (CRM)
    The Canadian Risk Management (CRM) program is comprised of three comprehensive management courses in the fast-growing, exciting discipline of risk management. Risk management is the ability to analyze, communicate, recommend problem solving techniques and monitor the exposure of unexpected losses. The three courses focus on the identification and assessment of exposures to loss, strategies for controlling identified losses and a review of techniques for financing the payment of those losses which do occur.
  • Associate in Risk Management (ARM)
    To be an effective risk manager, you need to develop the skills that are vital to effectively controlling, assessing, and financing risk. The ARM program helps you to enhance your risk management skills by teaching you how to build and implement a balanced risk financing strategy using retention, transfer, and hybrids. Passing the required ARM exams earns the Associate in Risk Management designation.
  • Chartered Property Casualty Insurance (CPCU)
    Built on a foundation of broad technical knowledge, high ethical standards, and demonstrated industry experience, the Chartered Property Casualty Underwriter designation program prepares you to meet the changes and challenges of a demanding risk management and insurance marketplace with confidence and professionalism. Passing the required CPCU exams and meeting the ethics, experience, and matriculation requirements earn the Chartered Property Casualty Underwriter designation.
  • Associate in Risk Management - ERM  (ARM-E)
    Trust us, if you haven't had the Enterprise-Wide Risk Management discussion yet, you will. And you'll need to speak the language. That's why the Institutes and RIMS have teamed up to bring you a new course - Enterprise-Wide Risk Management: Developing and Implementing. With this unique, advanced course, you can enhance self-study with intensive seminar and in-class options hosted by RIMS. Plus, you could earn a respected industry credential.
  • Associate in Commercial Underwriting (AU)
    Enhance your professional confidence by building a strong foundation in underwriting principles. You'll gain a broadened understanding of advanced underwriting techniques; plus you'll learn how to build a more profitable book of business by developing a disciplined approach to underwriting commercial property and liability exposures.
  • Associate in Management  (AIM)
    You can benefit from a comprehensive management education. In today's rapidly changing business climate, the ability to manage people and resources well and to make smart business decisions quickly are needed skills. Earning the AIM designation can increase your confidence as you manage direct reports, as well as increase your credibility with those in senior level positions. The AIM program includes human resource management, analysis of current business issues, and general management principles and practices. The courses in this program are best suited for mid-level managers.
  • Associate in Information Technology  (AIT)
    This three-course program covers the technical areas that insurance professionals should understand, and also prepares the IT professional with an in-depth understanding of insurance automation issues. The universally applicable skills you gain from AIT can enhance your marketability. Whether you are an IT professional seeking to better understand insurance business processes or an insurance professional seeking to grow your technology knowledge, AIT can help you manage technological growth while you advance your career.
  • Associate in Insurance Accounting and Finance  (AIAF)
    You will gain an understanding of practices, principles, and procedures used to prepare insurer financial statements to comply with the requirements of the NAIC and other regulatory bodies. This understanding benefits not only those who prepare these statements but also those who use information contained in these statements for management or assessment of insurer performance.
  • Associate in Captive Insurance  (ACI)
    The International Center for Captive Insurance Education (ICCIE) is the official education program of the captive industry, offering the Associate in Captive Insurance. Students must complete all seven core courses (including their respective post-course exams). These are classes comprised of ICCIE content developed by our instructors. They are offered on-line and contain instructor-led synchronous and asynchronous components. This blended approach offers students a high degree of engagement and interaction with top-tier industry professionals and the flexibility to complete their studies according to the dictates of their busy lives.
  • Certificate in Captive Insuranc (CCI)
    The International Center for Captive Insurance Education (ICCIE) is the official education program of the captive industry, offering the Certificate in Captive Insurance. The CCI allows students to commit to an intermediate level of expertise in the captive industry, while also allowing for specialization in particular areas of captive knowledge. There are three types of CCI certificates available.



Access the most comprehensive directory of solution providers for risk professionals.


myCOI's suite of products provides you with the right solution to simplify the tracking process and minimize your risks of an uninsured claim and costly litigation...

RWH Myers

RWH Myers is committed to helping policyholders through business interruption and property damage claims, efficiently and accurately...


Navigant represents policyholders in the analysis of losses and preparation of complex insurance claims...