Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content


Goodell Award Guidelines

Recognizing Outstanding Achievement in the Field of Risk Management

The Harry and Dorothy Goodell Award is sponsored by the Risk and Insurance Management Society, Inc. and is the most prestigious award that the Risk and Insurance Management Society, Inc. bestows upon an individual. The Goodell Award recognizes one person who is furthering the goals of risk management and RIMS through outstanding achievement. Harry Goodell, the first president of RIMS, established this award.

Eligible Nominees

Anyone participating in the discipline of risk management, who has made significant contributions to the field of risk management and/or RIMS during her/his career. RIMS members and non-members may be nominated and will be considered based upon the established criteria.

Deadline: January 4, 2019 (5pm ET)

To Nominate an Individual:

Complete the HD Goodell Nomination Form and answer as fully and completely as possible, each of the questions covering the award criteria. Ensure that the answer to any question does not exceed 2000 characters (about half an A4 page of information).


The Goodell Award recognizes superior contributions by an individual to RIMS and/or to risk management. It is offered as a lifetime achievement award and the highest award offered by the Society.


It is not a requirement that a nominee be a member of RIMS. However, primary consideration should be given to RIMS members who have made significant contributions to the Society. Nominations will be considered for any individual who meets the criteria outlined below. RIMS Board of Directors members are ineligible for this award during their tenure on the Board and for the immediate two years thereafter.

The Award

  1. A gift of recognition suitably engraved and bearing the name of the recipient and the date.
  2. Recognition of the individual at the Annual Conference & Exhibition by presentation of the gift.
  3. Appropriate recognition in RIMS publications and web site.

Selection Committee

The Goodell Award Selection Committee shall consist of the immediate Former President of RIMS, who shall chair the committee; the RIMS President; the First Vice President; the Chief Executive Officer; and, three members of the RIMS Board of Directors selected by the immediate Former President.


  1. Demonstrated accomplishments over many years through substantial service to RIMS
  2. Demonstrated accomplishments through major contributions to risk management or the risk management community
  3. Significant and outstanding contributions to a RIMS chapter
  4. Noteworthy participation in activities outside the Society which have brought favorable credit to RIMS or to risk management.  This should include public appearances at RIMS functions, and at other conferences and seminars, editorial or writing of note for Risk Management or other publications
  5. Liaison activities or efforts to promote risk management or RIMS
  6. Development of new or innovative solutions, publications, products or services for RIMS or risk management
  7. Innovative or superior contributions to risk management educational activities
  8. Volunteer service to RIMS at the chapter or Society level or comparable service with other organizations
  9. Recognition by RIMS or industry peers relative to RIMS or risk management contributions or activities

For any further information, contact Aurea Hernando by phone at 212.655.6597.​​​​



Access the most comprehensive directory of solution providers for risk professionals.


myCOI's suite of products provides you with the right solution to simplify the tracking process and minimize your risks of an uninsured claim and costly litigation...

RWH Myers

RWH Myers is committed to helping policyholders through business interruption and property damage claims, efficiently and accurately...


Navigant represents policyholders in the analysis of losses and preparation of complex insurance claims...