RIMS & Chartis Announce Inaugural Inductees to Risk Management Hall of Fame

May 02, 2011

NEW YORK (May 2, 2011) — RIMS and Chartis today announced the five inaugural inductees to the newly formed Risk Management Hall of Fame (RMHF). The RMHF was organized to maintain the history and tradition of the field of risk management, and will serve as a means to recognize and honor those professionals who have made significant contributions to advancing the discipline. Inductees were named during the opening ceremonies of the RIMS 2011 Annual Conference & Exhibition in Vancouver.

The 2011 inductees to the RMHF are:

John Pinner: Mr. Pinner spent 42 years with Mattel, Inc., creating and defining the risk management function for the world’s largest toy company. He served several terms as President of the Los Angeles Chapter of RIMS and, throughout his career, traveled extensively for Mattel in Europe and the Far East.  Mr. Pinner was also responsible for the formation of Mattel’s Captive Insurance Company in Bermuda. 

Eldrich Carr: Mr. Carr spent more than 25 years in risk management and insurance management positions, much of that time with The Goodyear Tire & Rubber Company.  Mr. Carr was one of the first to use the internet for underwriting submissions and as a replacement for the insurance certificate process, and is a frequent speaker at various national and international risk management forums.

Douglas Barlow: Mr. Barlow was a risk management pioneer whose career spanned decades as a risk manager and educator. He is credited with creating the first global insurance and risk management program at Massey-Ferguson, a Toronto-based farm equipment manufacturer, where he spent much of his career. Mr. Barlow was also the first risk professional to hold the title of risk manager and is credited with coining the now-pervasive phrase, “cost of risk.”

Donald Barrett: Mr. Barrett’s career spans more than 30 years, much of that time with the Hydro Group, the fourth largest generator of electricity in Canada. He served as a member of the Risk Management Committee of the Canadian Electricity Association, including a two-year term as Chairman, and was on its Critical Infrastructure Committee following the events of 9/11.  Mr. Barrett was a founding member of the Newfoundland and Labrador RIMS Chapter, which in 1981 was accepted by RIMS as its newest Canadian chapter. He was the first Vice President of the chapter and held several executive positions, including six terms as President, until his retirement.

Cheri Hawkins: Ms. Hawkins is retired from her position as Assistant Treasurer and Director of Insurance for Weyerhaeuser Company, the international forest products company headquartered in Tacoma, Washington, where she spent 25 years of her career. In 1990, she became the first female president of RIMS, and in l992, she was given the Weyerhaeuser President's Award for her efforts on environmental settlement.  In 2000, Ms. Hawkins was selected by Business Insurance as one of its first ever “100 Leading Women,” which celebrates women at the top of the insurance industry. 

New members to the RMHF will be announced each year at the RIMS Annual Conference & Exhibition.  The RMHF Selection Committee will consider the following criteria for membership in the RMHF: considerable contributions to the field; significant achievements, innovation and trend setting; demonstrated leadership, character and service; and the highest caliber of ethical and professional conduct. The RMHF will be housed at www.RiskHallofFame.org.

“This year’s inductees have touched the risk management community in profound ways throughout their careers and are inspiring figures in the history of this profession,” says Mary Roth, ARM, executive director of RIMS. “The selection committee’s decision to recognize them with this honor underscores the tremendous impact they have had on our community, and we are thrilled that several of them were able to join us in Vancouver.”

“We congratulate this inaugural inductee class to the Risk Management Hall of Fame and are pleased to celebrate their distinguished careers at the RIMS Annual Conference in Vancouver,” said John Doyle, Chief Executive Officer of Chartis’ Global Commercial Insurance.  “These five inaugural inductees are richly deserving of this recognition and have set the standard in terms of what this honor should represent.”          

About the Risk Management Hall of Fame
The Risk Management Hall of Fame (RMHF) is home to those risk professionals who have made exceptional contributions to advancing the risk management discipline. RMHF is a joint venture of the Risk and Insurance Management Society, Inc. (RIMS) and Chartis, and was created to preserve the history and tradition of the profession. Founded in 2011, nominees are considered from around the globe and inductees are selected by the RMHF Selection Committee. New members to the Risk Management Hall of Fame are announced yearly at the RIMS Annual Conference & Exhibition. For more information, visit www.RiskHallofFame.org.  

For more information, contact:

Josh Salter, Director of Communications, (212) 655-6059 or JSalter@rims.org

About RIMS

As the preeminent organization dedicated to promoting the profession of risk management, RIMS, the risk management society®, is a global not-for-profit organization representing more than 3,500 industrial, service, nonprofit, charitable and government entities throughout the world. Founded in 1950, RIMS is committed to advancing risk management capabilities for organizational success, bringing networking, professional development and education opportunities to its membership of more than 10,000 risk management professionals who are located in more than 60 countries. For more information on RIMS, visit www.RIMS.org

About Us