Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content


Risk Management Hall of Fame Nomination Form Now Available 11/9/2011

Deadline to Submit: December 31, 2011

November 9, 2011 (NEW YORK) RIMS (the Risk and Insurance Management Society, Inc.) and Chartis are seeking nominees for the 2012 Risk Management Hall of Fame. 

Founded in 2011, the Risk Management Hall of Fame (RMHF) is a shared venture between RIMS and Chartis. The honor was established to maintain the history and tradition of the field of risk management, and serves as a means to recognize and commemorate those professionals who have made significant contributions to advancing the discipline.

Nominees will be considered among risk management professionals around the globe. Criteria considered by the Selection Committee for membership in the RMHF will include considerable contributions to the field; prominent achievements, innovation and trend setting; demonstrated leadership, character and service; and the highest caliber of ethical and professional conduct.

Candidates must:

  • Have been a member of the Risk and Insurance Management Society, Inc. for at least 10 years.
  • Have been retired as a practicing risk manager at least three years prior to nomination, or if still active in the risk management and/or insurance industry, upon reaching 65 years of age. In the event that an active risk manager dies and otherwise meets the criteria, they will be qualified for consideration one year after their death.
  • Have made significant contributions to risk management, enterprise risk management and/or strategic risk management at the state, provincial, national and/or international levels.
  • Have demonstrated significant achievements, innovation and trend setting in risk management, enterprise risk management and/or strategic risk management.
  • Have demonstrated leadership, character and service by sharing his/her expertise and have an inspirational effect on others.
  • Have been well known in the risk management, enterprise risk management, strategic risk management or insurance industry and recognized as an industry leader by their peers.
  • Have practiced the highest caliber of professional conduct in order to enhance the public image of him/herself and the risk management community.

The deadline for nominations is December 31, 2011. The nomination form is available on the RMHF website  Completed submissions should be sent via email to

The RMHF is governed by the RMHF Selection Committee and all Committee decisions are final.

Last year’s inductees were: Douglas Barlow; Donald Barrett; Eldrich A. Carr, Jr.; Cheri J. Hawkins, CPA; and John Pinner.

# # #

About RIMS

As the preeminent organization dedicated to educating, engaging and advocating for the global risk community, RIMS, the risk management society™, is a not-for-profit organization representing more than 3,500 corporate, industrial, service, nonprofit, charitable and government entities throughout the world. RIMS has a membership of approximately 10,000 risk practitioners who are located in more than 60 countries. For more information about the Society’s world-leading risk management content, networking, professional development and certification opportunities, visit

​ ​​

For more information, contact:

Josh Salter, RIMS communications manager, (212) 655-6059 or



Access the most comprehensive directory of solution providers for risk professionals.


myCOI's suite of products provides you with the right solution to simplify the tracking process and minimize your risks of an uninsured claim and costly litigation...

RWH Myers

RWH Myers is committed to helping policyholders through business interruption and property damage claims, efficiently and accurately...


Navigant represents policyholders in the analysis of losses and preparation of complex insurance claims...