Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content


RIMS Announces Board of Directors for 2009 Term 12/18/2008


RIMS is pleased to announce the incoming board of directors for the 2009 term. This group of highly-experienced leaders in the risk management discipline has been elected by RIMS chapter delegates to address the issues and challenges that risk professionals face in the year ahead, and drive RIMS to best serve our members, develop exceptional programs and support tools, and propel the discipline forward.

Leading the Society as president in 2009 is Joseph A. Restoule, CIP, CRM (Canadian Risk Management), effective January 1. Restoule is leader of risk management at NOVA Chemicals Corporation and a member of RIMS Southern Alberta Chapter. Restoule has served on RIMS board of directors since 2001 in various capacities, including vice president and secretary. He is also president of the Canadian-based William H. McGannon Foundation, a member of the founding board of Governors of the Institute of Risk Management and often lectures at the University of Calgary. In 2004, Restoule was the recipient of the Donald M. Stuart Award, RIMS highest honor for risk management in Canada.

Joining Restoule as officers on RIMS 2009 board of directors:

Terry Fleming, director of the division of risk management at Montgomery County, Maryland, and president of RIMS Potomac Chapter, will serve as vice president.

John R. Phelps, ARM, CPCU, CBCP, director of business risk solutions at Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Florida, Inc., and member of RIMS North Florida Chapter, will serve as treasurer.

Scott B. Clark, AAI, risk and benefits officer at Miami-Dade County Public Schools, and president of RIMS Greater Miami Chapter, will serve as secretary.

The newly-elected members of the board of directors are:

Robert Cartwright Jr., CRM
Loss Prevention Manager, Bridgestone Retail Operations, LLC
President of RIMS Delaware Valley Chapter

Frederick J. Savage, FCII, ARM
Director, Risk Management (San Ramon), Chevron Corporation
Member of RIMS Golden Gate Chapter

The following members of the board were re-elected for the 2009 term:

Janet E. Barnes, ARM
Risk Manager, Snohomish County PUD No.1
Member of RIMS Washington Chapter

John Hughes, ARM
Director, Risk Management, Alex Lee, Inc.
Director of RIMS Carolinas Chapter

Daniel H. Kugler, ARM, CEBS, CPCU, AIC, ACI
Assistant Treasurer, Corporate Risk Management, Snap-On Inc.
Member of RIMS Wisconsin Chapter

Deborah M. Luthi, ARM, CCSA
Director, Enterprise Risk Management Services, Matheson Trucking, Inc.
Secretary of RIMS Sacramento Valley Chapter

W. Michael McDonald, ARM
Vice President, Risk Management, Quality Distribution, Inc.
Member of RIMS Tampa Bay Chapter

Richard J. Roberts, Jr., ALCM, ARM, CPCU, RF
Corporate Risk Manager, Ensign-Bickford Industries, Inc.
Director of RIMS Connecticut Valley Chapter

Wayne Salen, ARM, CHCM, CPSM
Director of Risk Management, Labor Finders International, Inc.
Member of RIMS Palm Beach Chapter

Nowell Seaman, CIP, CRM
Manager, Risk Management and Insurance Services, University of Saskatchewan
Member of RIMS Saskatchewan Chapter

Carolyn M. Snow, CPCU
Director, Insurance Risk Management, Humana Inc.
Member of RIMS Kentuckiana/Bluegrass Chapter

Janice Ochenkowski, ARM (Ex Officio)
Managing Director, Jones Lang LaSalle Incorporated
Member of RIMS Chicago Chapter



Access the most comprehensive directory of solution providers for risk professionals.


myCOI's suite of products provides you with the right solution to simplify the tracking process and minimize your risks of an uninsured claim and costly litigation...

RWH Myers

RWH Myers is committed to helping policyholders through business interruption and property damage claims, efficiently and accurately...


Navigant represents policyholders in the analysis of losses and preparation of complex insurance claims...